RSS

When Your 7-Year Old is Dying…

12 Oct

So, how exactly do Christian parents handle the shocking news that their 5-year-old daughter has a brain tumor that, barring God’s direct intervention, will bring about a premature conclusion to her life? Let me introduce to you Willie and Stacey Byrd.

Willie and Stacey used to be very active and vital members of my church. I say “used to be” only because Willie’s work opportunities caused them to move away. Their daughter, Lydia, now age 7, was diagnosed with a tumor near the base of her brain stem two years ago. Since then their lives have been filled with doctors’ appointments, scans, tests, questions, tears, AND FAITH in their Lord.

This past weekend all five Byrds, Willie, Stacey, Lydia, Luke (age 6) and Sam (age 3), moved into a new apartment. Stacey writes about the move, her love for decorating, and lovely Lydia’s room. You can read the whole blog here, but I especially enjoyed this excerpt and thought you would too:

I spent the majority of the weekend making the new space our home. Decorating is something I truly enjoy. Making a house a home is one of my passions.  

I love our new nest. I especially love a certain room painted yellow per her request and filled with pink things. I’ve had a crux of emotion these past few days. . . I love this place. I love this place with pink things strewn all over. It makes me very sad to think of this place with all things pink removed.

Will I still love this place when she’s not here?  

I had to turn this thought on its ear. This place is not her forever home. The place He has prepared for her is so, so much better than anything this decorating-crazy-momma byrd could ever create.    

I decorate temporary dwellings on this earth…

Jesus prepares eternal dwellings in heaven.

 I think she’ll like it much better there…

her sweet little yellow-walled room

won’t even compare.

Willie and Stacey: “Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.” May your faith in the Lord Jesus and His sovereign plan for your family continue to be so very courageous!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Children, Death, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “When Your 7-Year Old is Dying…

  1. Sandee Matlock Richardson "71,72"

    October 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Thanks Jeff for posting this it really puts my aches and complaints seem minor.when I read the pain this young mother is going thru. I don’t know what I would do in her shoes Thank goodness she has the Lord to lean on. I will place them on my prayer list. Please tell Lydia and her family to keep the faith. Nothing can underestimate the power of our God. In Him all miracles are possible.

     
    • Jeff Manning

      October 14, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Thanks for the prayers and concern, Sandee. I’ll pass along your comments to Willie and Stacey.

       
  2. Caleb rampey

    October 13, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    I’m sorry but I’m praying

     
  3. anilraheja

    October 12, 2011 at 10:16 am

    thank you. God’s amazing & sustaining grace is always in play. we are truly blessed…

     
  4. anilraheja

    October 12, 2011 at 10:08 am

    we lost our 12 year old a year ago. we thought we’d be devastated coz he was our biggest attachment. It was very sudden & totally unexpected. But God has brought the most incredible people into our lives – those that have helped us deal with the loss & be almost normal again. of course our other boy has not allowed us to go down even for a minute – he’s been the pillar on which we’ve rebuilt our lives.

    Lydia is still around. She’s a blessed child. Amongst God’s favorites. Ask her parents to shower her with all the love & happiness that exists in their hearts. And, to keep the faith – unending, undying. She has our prayers too. God bless Lydia & her family.

     
    • Jeff Manning

      October 12, 2011 at 10:15 am

      I’m sorry for your loss, but pray that God’s amazing and sustaining grace will continue to meet your every need.

       

Leave a Reply

 
